{Home sweet home birth}

2017-03-30_0001

The Birth of Justus

Lacey had inquired about having me photograph her birth, and of course I was honored she chose me to capture such an amazing, intimate moment. She continued on to tell me they planned for a natural home water birth,  this being her second one too. I was anxious as we’d scheduled our Spring Break vacation which would be 2 weeks after her due date and you just never know when baby will decide it’s time! With that, we still booked the birth and prayed baby would decide to come before then. Thankfully we live only 10 minutes apart, and I had the availability to be on-call!

8 days after her due date, I got the text! Labor was officially happening. I went ahead with my morning session and moved the afternoon around since I was on ‘baby-time’, and just as I finished up at the studio, I got the text…8 cm! I went straight over to begin photographing the laboring and about 2 hours later Lacey gave birth to another baby BOY!

She was absolutely amazing and so strong during the labor & birth. I was honored to be there to document that moment in time for them to cherish forever! There were many powerful images for them to forever look back on, but with Lacey & Justin’s permission we chose these to share a glimpse with you all! ❤

2017-03-30_00022017-03-30_00032017-03-30_00042017-03-30_0005

2017-04-01_00012017-04-01_00052017-04-01_00032017-04-01_00042017-03-30_00102017-03-30_00112017-03-30_00142017-03-30_0015

A few beautiful words from her husband:

Not only does this act display the power of a woman, but also the grace which God gives to all.  Home birthing is not for everyone, but the act of child birthing itself is an illustration of a woman’s dedication to mankind and the love to create a family.

I am blessed to be able to witness and to take part of the birth of our child.  Watching my wife take upon the challenge of birthing both our children have left me honored to be her husband.  I have the upmost love and respect for her that will endure a lifetime.  To praise my wife and women as a whole does not give it justice.

During pregnancy and labor, we have been easily humbled.  Its without question that God and His angels are present and orchestrating it all.  Watching her struggle mentally and physically, I knew she could not do this alone.  My encouragement and aid fell short to the strength and power endured by her during this process. As the birth became close and closer, God made sure his glory was known.  Seeing the baby for the first time confirmed our hopes and prayers – God is faithful.

I also know there are women in which are unable to have children – this does not take away the power and strength which is in all women. I have been able to witness just a small glimpse of this power and strength the Lord has blessed all women with.  I deeply pray that if it be His will, He will bless those whom have struggled to conceive and bring forth child. 

We are so thankful. All glory and honor is His – praise to our Lord, Jesus Christ, for without Him we are all lost.

Mark 11:24, James 1:6 1 Timothy 1:1, John 15:7-8


http://www.ReflectionsByTalea.com

 

Leave a Reply

